PROGRAMME

October, 21, 2014, Max Joseph Hall at Munich Residence in Munich, Germany

SCIENTIFIC SYMPOSIUM

| 8:30 A.M. | Registration |
|-------------------|---|
| 9:00 A.M. | Welcome and opening remarks Professor Dr Wolfgang Baumeister, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Heinrich Wieland Prize, MPI of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany |
| 9:10 A.M. | "In vivo chemistry" Professor Carolyn Bertozzi, PhD, University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA, Heinrich Wieland Laureate 2012 MtL |
| 9:50 A.M. | "Beyond the prokaryotic ribosome" Professor Nenad Ban, PhD, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich, Switzerland, Heinrich Wieland Laureate 2010 MtL |
| 10:30 A.M. | Coffee break |
| 11:10 A.M. | "Molecular chaperones in protein folding and proteostasis" Professor Dr FUlrich Hartl, MPI of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany, Heinrich Wieland Laureate 2011 |
| 11:50 A.M. | "Trafficking vesicles – what gives them their identity?" Professor Dr Reinhard Jahn, MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany, Heinrich Wieland Laureate 2014 MtL |
| 12:30 P.M. | Lunch break |
| 12:30 - 1:15 P.M. | "Meet the Laureates" for registered students |
| 1:15 - 2:15 P.M. | Poster session |
| 2:20 P.M. | "Natural products: an inspiration for discovery" Professor Steven Ley, PhD, University of Cambridge, UK, Heinrich Wieland Laureate 2009 MtL |
| 3:00 P.M. | "How are chromosomes held together?" Professor Kim Nasmyth, PhD, University of Oxford, UK |
| 3:40 P.M. | Coffee break |
| 4:10 P.M. | Poster prizes |
| 4:20 P.M. | "Regulation of neurotransmitter release" Professor James Rothman, PhD, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, Heinrich Wieland Laureate 1990 MtL |
| 5:00 P.M. | Final remarks & end of symposium |

Meet the Laureates

Selected students and junior scientists meet with eminent scientists connected with the Heinrich Wieland Prize for a free exchange in a round table format. The available speakers are marked with "MtL" above. Also available is Professor Dr Petra Schwille, member of the Scientific Board of Trustees of the Heinrich Wieland Prize and Director at the MPI of Biochemistry in Martinsried, Germany.

PROGRAMME

AWARD CEREMONY

6:30 P.M. Welcome reception

7:00 P.M. Festive award ceremony

Musical prelude

Edvard Grieg (1843 – 1907): "From Holberg's Time", op. 40 - Prelude

Welcome: Ingolf Baur, TV science journalist

"50th anniversary of the Heinrich Wieland Prize"

Christoph Boehringer, Executive Committee of the

Boehringer Ingelheim Foundation

Musical interlude

Maurice Ravel (1875 – 1937): "Le tombeau de Couperin" – Toccata

Laudation

Professor Dr Herbert Jäckle, MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany

Award presentation

to Professor Dr Reinhard Jahn MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany by Christoph Boehringer and Professor Dr Wolfgang Baumeister Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Heinrich Wieland Prize

Interview with Professor Dr Reinhard Jahn

Show act inmot!on

Keynote

"Mapping the brain"

Professor Jeffrey Lichtman, MD, PhD, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA

Musical finish

Pedro Iturralde (1929): "Pequena Czarda"

Closing remarks: Ingolf Baur

08:30 P.M. Reception

10:00 P.M. End of award festivities

Music by SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Blaž Kemperle, soprano saxophone, Erik Nestler, alto saxophone, Alan Lužar, tenor saxophone, David Brand, baritone saxophone. The showact inmot!ion are Ivo Studer and Jan Schmutz, the 2012 world and 2012/13 European yo-yo champions.